Having a horrible Valentine’s Day? I promise mine’s worse.

Director Commentary

Many women wake up with flowers and chocolates and kisses on Valentine’s Day. There’s nothing like sharing such a romantic day with your S.O.

Well, I don’t have a boyfriend so I wasn’t anticipating anything fancy today (technically yesterday). So imagine my surprise when I woke up to this message from my best friend’s boyfriend.

I didn’t get a chance to say earlier but I would regret if I didn’t say at all – I think you’re a really terrible person.

So friends what did I do to deserve such a cruel message this morning?

I gave my friend advice.

She and I threw a party last night and her skirt was a little too short. She comes to me at the end of the night all upset because her oh-so-beloved boyfriend got mad at her for wearing such a short skirt and ’embarrassing him in front of all his friends’.

So what did I say? I said, tell him not to fucking tell you what to wear. He has no right.

I texted her in the morning telling her he sent me the lovely message above. She said she knew and didn’t want to get involved because it was between me and him.

Um… so I deserve to be called a terrible person for telling you to stand up for yourself and then I have to deal with him calling me cruel names?

This isn’t the first time he has rubbed me the wrong way. He has upset her before with his controlling and domineering ways and I’ve always given her my honest opinion about him. Usually, not so pleasant. But I’m not one to sugar coat.

Only today I learned that every time she stands up for herself in their arguments she says I told her to say it or I was the one to put it in her head… That’s not cool, either. You don’t throw your friends under the bus like that. If you agree with an opinion just use it. Don’t say that someone told you to disagree.

So basically I’ve been made to look like the bad guy in their relationship and he thinks I’m trying to break them up. Honestly, I have a life. I have better things to do than try and break them up. I have other friends to hang out with. I’m busy with school, I’m taking 3 law courses, I work over 15 hours a week at my part-time job, I have stories to write on Wattpad. Do you really think I’m going to spend my time plotting ways to get them to break up? All for what? To have a lonely, heartbroken friend that I won’t even have time to hang out with?

When my friend comes to me upset over something her boyfriend did, I’m going to give her my honest opinion. I’m going to give her advice. What else am I supposed to do? Just shrug and tell her it’s her problem? What kind of a friend would ever do that?

But clearly my concern for her has backfired and she isn’t even willing to stand up for me. She says she doesn’t want to get involved. None of this would have happened if she hadn’t involved me in the first place.

But wait! Want to hear the worst part? I replied ‘may I ask why?’ to his message and it has been nearly 24-hours and he hasn’t responded.

So is your Valentine’s Day shittier than mine? I really, really, really hope not.

5 thoughts on “Having a horrible Valentine’s Day? I promise mine’s worse.

Leave a Reply

