Favourite Beauty Products (Spring 2016)

Director Commentary

estee_lauder_the_estee_edit_ss_2016_makeup_collection1

I know super random subject but I’m a bit of a makeup junkie and wanted to stay active on my blog so I figured, hey, why not make a post about my favourite makeup products? Combining two of my loves makeup + writing. FYI this isn’t sponsored so you’ll get my genuine opinions on products because I know YouTube can be a little iffy because many of them are getting paid for what they say (no matter what disclaimers they feed you lol).

*Also sorry if a lot of these products are pricey because they’re from Sephora but they’re products I genuinely love.

Kat Von D Ink Liner (in Trooper)

eyeliner

Personally I like it better than her Tattoo liner because the Ink one has a thicker, sturdier tip so it’s easier to do a nice wing. Seriously best liner I’ve ever had, super similar to the Stila liquid liner except you get more product and it’s cheaper ($23 cdn and it lasts you a few months).

Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment

fresh-sugar-advanced-therapy-lip-balm-review

This stuff is pricey, I won’t lie ($30 cdn). But honestly it’s SO worth it. I got it for free a few months ago and when I finished it I was so depressed. I tried the Sephora Collection one which is a fifth the price and has amazing reviews but it just didn’t do it for me. Fresh’s Advanced Therapy is incredible. I loved it so much I ordered another one. Even though my wallet weeped a little.

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick (in Chianti & Patina)

img_975501c05fa5c0e51ff6b4bee58e653fd250

Looking for a perfect dark plum, vampirey lipstick? Look no more, because Chianti is it. LOVE this colour. I know summer’s approaching and dark colours aren’t as popular anymore but as soon as September hits you NEED this colour in your life. It’s so freaking bomb. And Patina is my favourite neutral lip colour. It’s mauvey/pink and looks so pretty in photos. I lost mine and I’m crying a little because now I have to buy another one. But you bet your ass I’m going to do it. Also, the Stila liquid lipstick formula is great. It isn’t as drying as the Kat Von D formula but it still lasts you a long while. They’re a little pricey ($31 cdn) but the formula and the colours are great.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara 

maxresdefault

I really love drugstore mascaras. High end mascaras are lovely too but I honestly don’t think you need to break your bank for them because the drugstore ones are just as good, if not better. Right now my favourite mascara is this one. It makes my lashes huge and really separates them nicely.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion (Original)

ud-primer-potion

I kid you not I bought a tube of this probably 5 years ago and it’s still lasted me. I know it’s probably gross that I’m using such an old primer but it looks all good to me and works the same. A tube of this is about $26 cdn but it LASTS you for so long because you only need the smallest amount and it works wonders. My eyeshadow has NEVER creased again after this (and I have oily skin).

MAC Paint Pot (in Let’s Skate)

macletsskatepaintpotswatch

MAC’s paint pots are amazeballs. Let’s Skate is my favourite colour, it’s a pretty shimmery pink that just brightens up your entire face.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed (in Champagne Pop)

montreal-jazz-fest-407

Yeah, yeah everybody and their grandmother raves about this. But it’s worth the hype. Champagne Pop is such a pretty colour! (Kudos Jaclyn!)

MAC Eye Shadow (in Nylon)

6e15d0cb22bfc793fc415a8dda807a5e

Favourite colour to highlight my brows and the inner corners of my eyes.

Philosophy Purity Made Simple

purity-cleanser

I bought this cleanser during the black Friday sale at Sephora. Hello it was $13! Such a steal. I love this stuff it makes my skin feel so soft after using it.

Neutrogena Naturals Fresh Cleansing + Makeup Remover

k2-_7ef872d6-f4cb-47df-a32d-28b033068594-v1

Perhaps you’ve heard or this trick, perhaps you haven’t. When washing your face it’s best to cleanse twice. So I use this first to remove all my makeup and cleanse my face and then I go in with Purity. I love this because firstly, it’s more natural. Secondly, it takes off all my makeup AND it cleanses my face. Plus it’s a drugstore product so it’s definitely affordable.

MAC Powder Blush Ellie Goulding Collection

mac-ellie-goulding-ill-hold-my-brush

I asked a waitress what bronzer she was wearing when I was out for dinner one night. She told me it was this one. I bought it the next day. The bronzer is PERFECT for contouring if you have fair skin. It’s super pigmented and it’s such a pretty bronze. Not too orange but not too cold. I LOVE this stuff. Get it while you still can it’s super worth it. (Also comes with a small blush but I don’t care too much for it).

Sephora Collection Mud Mask Purifying & Mattifying

sephora-mud-mask-review-inhautepursuit-beauty-blogger-e1441380578622

This mask only costs $25 for a whole jar and it’s so freaking good! If you have oily/acne-prone skin I definitely recommend this. It makes a difference, trust me. And if you don’t just read the review on the Sephora website.

Murad Acne Spot Treatment 

10714-1459135322

This stuff is pricey $22 for a tube but I find it really helps dry out annoying pimples. If you suffer from acne I’d go to Sephora and ask for a sample of this just so you can see if it works for you. Also, it’s clear so you can have it on during the day and nobody can tell!

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Makeup

estee-lauder-double-wear

Favourite foundation of all time. It is pricey but $46 cdn is pretty mild compare to the other foundations at Sephora. And it’s freaking amazing! Full coverage, lasts all day and sits beautifully on the skin. Plus there are SO many colour options so you’re bound to find the perfect colour for your skin tone. Love, love, love this stuff. Love. It.

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer

featured-slider-image-copy2

I don’t recommend this as a foundation because it’s quite thick. But as a concealer it’s bomb. I use it to cover acne scars and any exiting pimples and it works amazing. The thick consistency covers the redness right up and it stays in place all day. It’s not too pricey either considering it’s Clinique, only $34 cdn and you get a 1 oz bottle. If you’re only using it as a concealer it’s going to last you a WHILE.

Drybar 100 Proof Treatment Oil

11574185

I love this stuff. I bleach my hair and I use it after I shower and it makes my hair SO soft. It doesn’t leave any greasy residue or anything and a little goes a super long way. Kinda pricey ($45 cdn) but you don’t use a lot of product so it’ll last you a whiiiile.

Tarte Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation Brush 

thebuffer_original

Ugh. This is amazing. You put a bit of foundation on it and it takes 5 seconds to cover your entire face. It’s a big brush and you quickly buff your foundation on. Doesn’t leave any streaks or anything and covers everything splendidly. Also a little pricey ($44 cdn) but it’s a brush and brushes last you a looong time.

 

One thought on “Favourite Beauty Products (Spring 2016)

Leave a Reply

