Favourite Beauty Products of 2016

Director Commentary

Here are the best things I used this past year. They include favourite makeup, hair, skincare products and fragrances. Some of these were already mentioned in my Spring favourites btw.

What have been your beauty favourites this year? I’d love to know!

Kat Von D Ink Liner in Trooper

Price: $25 cdn

Favourite eyeliner to draw wings and fly away ūüėČ A great and cheaper alternative is the Sephora Collection Long-Lasting 12 HR Wear Eyeliner in 01 Black. It’s only $15 cdn and it’s super black and matte. Has a brush though so not as easy to use but once you get the hang of it it’s great.

eyeliner

Ciate London Triple Shot Mascara  

Price: $26 cdn

This stuff is B-O-M-B. That’s all.

ciate_tripleshotmascara_pdf

Bite Agave Lip Mask 

Price: $30 cdn

This stuff is hell-a expensive but I love it so much. Makes my lips feel really good and it’s 100% natural.

mti2ntuxodk4mdm0ntc1odm4

MAC Paint Pot ‘Let’s Skate’

Price: $26 cdn

Also mentioned in my Spring favourites. I love this colour so, so much. I can wear it year round. It’s just so pretty and simple.

macletsskatepaintpotswatch

Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Quad ‘Plum’

Price: $34 cdn

This is such a great, matte eye shadow palette. I took it on vacation everywhere I went because it has the basics I need for a great look. The pigment is also amazing.

katvond_plumpalette001

Benefit Hoola Matte Bronzer 

Price: $36 cdn

No matter what, I always find myself reaching for this bronzer. It’s so, so nice and it lasts forever so the price isn’t all that bad.

tumblr_inline_ntw4xy02io1tspuxd_540

Physician’s Forumla Murumuru Butter Bronzer

Price: $19.99 cdn

Slightly cheaper than the Benefit bronzer but also packs a great punch. I found myself reaching for this bronzer nearly as much as the Benefit one because it’s also amazing.

201605_physiciansformula_butterbronzer2

Urban Decay All Nighter Liquid Foundation ‘2.5’

Price: $49 cdn

I love this foundation because a little bit goes a looong way. My favourite way to apply it is using a kabooki brush and buffing it into my skin. It’s super matte, and super full coverage but it doesn’t feel heavy or look cakey which I like. Although, it will make you slightly ghostly because it’s so matte so you’ll definitely need a bronzer or blush on top for a bit of life. A lot of people have complained about oxidization but I don’t have that issue. It’s a waterproof foundation so it takes a few seconds for it to dry – thus it changes colour as it does. Otherwise, it doesn’t oxidize.

img_7230

Smashbox Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear¬†Foundation ‘1.0’¬†

Price: $48 cdn

This is a great medium coverage foundation. It looks very natural on the skin so great for everyday use.

sbx_prod_22769_875x773_0

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte 24 HR Foundation ‘Classic Ivory’

Price: $16.96 cdn

Fairly pricey as far as drugstore foundations good but man it’s gooood. I reached for this foundation as much, if not more, than my Sephora ones. I recently bought a second bottle because I used it so much.

l2527oreal2binfallible2b24h2bmatte2bfoundation2b102bporcelain2b252812529

Too Faced Born This Way Naturally Radiant Concealer ‘Fair’¬†

Price: $32 cdn

I absolutely hate the foundation from this line but the concealer is fantastic. It’s light, smells nice, and doesn’t crease on me at all. Really great stuff.

too-faced-born-this-way-concealer-5-1024x679

Dry Bar 100 Proof Treatment Oil

Price: $45 cdn

I mentioned this in my Spring beauty favourites and am still loving it. Seriously a great oil for dead, dry hair (AKA bleached and fried hair).

11574185

Caudalie Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet

Price: $45 cdn

This has a moussey texture and feel so nice on the skin. I really feel a difference after using this. I wear it at night and wake up with super soft skin.

caudalie_vinosource_moisturizing_sorbet_40ml_1460451507_main

Fresh Lotus Youth Preserve Eye Cream

Price: $54 cdn

I will admit I’ve only taken a sample of this and haven’t purchased it because it’s expensive AF. But what a great eye cream. The bags that were once beneath my eyes have disappeared and my under eyes have become so much brighter since using this. Love it.

fresh-lotus-eye-cream-review-inhautepursuit

Philosophy Clear Days Ahead Fast-Acting Salicylic Acid Acne Spot Treatment

Price: $25 cdn

Only the longest name of all time. But I really love this spot treatment. I find that my blemishes reduce in size or dry up the day after wearing this. It has a very high percentage of salicylic acid (2.5%) which helps get rid of acne quickly.

s1697648-main-hero

Boscia Charcoal Pore Pudding Intensive Wash-Off Treatment

Price: $48 cdn

This mask is fantastic. It doesn’t dry up on the skin. The two charcoals help get rid of acne, clean the skin and hydrate. It feels so nice once you wash it off.

s1785914-main-hero

Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray 

Price: $39

I like that this product keeps my makeup from transferring too much onto my clothes. Besides, I like to think that it keeps my makeup on all night. I feel like it does (lol)

604214851108_allnighter

Elizabeth & James Nirvana Bourbon Eau de Parfum 

Price: $82 cdn (50 ml)

I LOVE this perfume. It’s super warm and musky. I don’t generally like sugary or overly sweet perfumes so this one is perfect for me. Also great as a Winter/Fall fragrance.

elizabeth-and-james-nirvana-1095

Clean Warm Cotton Eau de Parfum

Price: $48 (30 ml)

I always say this perfume is like a warm hug. I love it so, so much. It smells like your clothes just came out of the dryer and I don’t know why it’s so appealing to me but it just is.

859968000689

Versace Bright Crystal Eau de Toilette

Price: $64 cdn (30 ml)

This is a floral perfume but I LOVE it. It’s not overly sweet it’s just lovely.

versace_bright_crystal_0ml

Urban Decay Heavy Metal Glitter Eyeliner ‘Midnight Cowboy’

Price: $23 cdn

If you’re looking for a product that will give you pure glitter without the mess look no further. This stuff is AMAZING. I’ve used it as eyeliner, eyeshadow and even as super glittery lipstick. It’s so perfect and beautiful. I own the gold one ‘Midnight Cowboy’ but they’re honestly all stunning.

master_heavymetal

Nexcare Acne Absorbing Covers 

Price: $11.98 cdn

These are lifesavers when you have those huge zits that need to go. They suck the life right out of the big pimples and instantly make them smaller and less obvious. I wear them overnight and take them off in the morning. It’s disgusting and satisfying watching them work. Make sure you aren’t putting on any moisturizer under these or else they won’t stick on the skin.

nexcareacne

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed ‘Champagne Pop’

Price: $46 cdn

This was also mentioned in my Spring favourites. To be perfectly honest I haven’t been wearing highlighter so much anymore but when I do this one’s my go-t0. I really haven’t found any company that does highlighters¬†better than Becca. They’re so pigmented and creamy. Great product even though it’s reaaaally pricey.

montreal-jazz-fest-407

 

 

One thought on “Favourite Beauty Products of 2016

Leave a Reply

