22 Truths

Director Commentary

I celebrated my 22nd birthday this year and I thought I would create a list of 22 things I’ve discovered in my (fairly short) lifetime. I hope these help you in some way. I’ve gained new insight when I’ve read similar posts from other writers in the past and I hope this list does the same for you. 


tumblr_ntjrh19jj61sy2cjqo1_500

  1. Don’t be afraid to do things alone. In the past, if I couldn’t find someone to go to a concert with me I wouldn’t go. I’ve realized that’s so stupid. If a band I enjoy is coming to town I’ll buy a ticket and go alone, why should I miss out on seeing a great artist simply because I don’t have anyone to go with? The same goes with movies, museums, galleries or any other events where you might be the only person interested. Besides, you might even make a friend.
    .
    .
    tumblr_ngb4uvlfgl1sulnzno1_400 .
  2. Shake your fear by taking it on. I used to be terrified of driving on the highway. I thought it was overwhelming and an easy way to get yourself killed. So I drove on the highway every chance I got. Now, it’s something I do almost everyday and I’m super comfortable on it. You’ve just got to keep doing the thing you fear until you don’t fear it anymore.
    .
    .
    tumblr_nmei8apfq21qzg2c0o2_500 .
  3. Stop thinking you’re not good enough. This is something I need to work on still but I’ve learned that if I do work for free because I don’t think I’m good enough to get paid then people will believe my work is inadequate too. By this I mean photography, film or editing. I know people in my field who have the same level of expertise and experience as me charging others for their work. So why shouldn’t I? It’s time to realize my value.
    .
    .
    tumblr_n8od6elqgo1rks5xoo1_400 .
  4. Don’t shy away from going out on dates. With the whole online world and meeting people on Tinder or other online dating apps a lot of conversations occur over text message before even meeting the person in real life. It’s easy to judge someone based on how they text but it’s almost never their reality. So stop overthinking every message a stranger sends you and go meet him or her in real life! Otherwise, you’re wasting your time. The more you go on dates with strangers, the easier and less awkward it becomes.
    .
    .
    tumblr_n0hfujigjp1sg5hs3o1_400 .
  5. A small gesture can go a long way. Sometimes, I’ll buy a friend a coffee or I’ll attend an event that a friend invited me to on Facebook. It means a lot more to them than you think and their happiness is contagious.
    .
    .
    tumblr_m4odskkyee1r5r8duo1_r1_500 .
  6. If something is bothering you speak up about it but don’t go overboard. If a friend did a shitty thing to you then tell them it wasn’t cool, don’t let them get away with mistreating you. But at the same time, don’t take it too far. Let them know it was hurtful and then forgive them. Staying angry at someone fills you with bad energy and leaves you feeling like crap. But not speaking about something that’s bothering you is unsettling too. Find a balance – speak up and then forgive.
    .
    .
    tumblr_ngqkylc1ck1sulnzno1_500.
  7. Don’t just do what you love, experience what you love too. I love writing. I have a Wattpad page where I write stories and share them with the world. But I also love reading and am constantly doing it. Reading helps me become a better writer and sparks inspiration. The same goes with film and music. I enjoy certain genres of film and music over others but every now and again I’ll deviate from my norm in order to appreciate different forms of that art in order to better understand it.
    .
    .
    tumblr_n3hxsr6pi61tn59xho1_500.
  8. Sometimes staying under the radar is a good thing (especially if you have a part-time job). At work, I try to get my job done without bothering anybody. I barely ever call in sick because I book off days that I need well in advance. I am friendly with my supervisors and co-workers but don’t try too hard to be close to them but I also try to be as kind and easy-going as possible. I keep it chill. As a result, I have a great relationship with my manager and my co-workers are all happy to work with me.
    .
    .
    tumblr_n2snb02egh1seg4wso1_400.
  9. If you’re in uni, GO TO CLASS! It’s so easy to skip classes when you’re in university, nobody’s keeping track and a lot of the lectures are online. But going to class saves you from having to study from scratch. You’ll already have notes you can use when studying instead of writing new ones and most of the time you’ll be able to add additional comments to the notes that were said in class but aren’t on the online files. My grades are easily higher when I go to class.
    .
    .
    tumblr_nd9wah0gcw1tarewgo1_500.
  10. If you just meet someone and you think they’re cool and want to be their friend then pursue it. Don’t be afraid to hit someone up on Facebook or iMessage and ask them to hang out. I’ve made some of my closest friends just by messaging them and asking if they want to go out with me.
    .
    .
    tumblr_n8s9m4ezk11r9rffqo1_500.
  11. Be nice to people in customer service. You should be nice to everybody but especially the people who work in retail, food or any other customer service jobs. I’ve been on the other end of things and some customers are so nasty. It doesn’t kill you to smile and ask them how their day has been or compliment them on the lipstick they have on.
    .
    .

     

  12. Take every job seriously, even if you aren’t getting paid. I know I said don’t forget your value in #3 but if you’re working an unpaid internship or any other unpaid job then do a damn good job. You’ve made a commitment and you need to respect that. Plus, people notice when you’re showing up on time and doing the work right. It might just take you further in your career.
    .
    .
    tumblr_m7y0mkdqej1r9zaago1_500.
  13. It’s okay to feel sad sometimes. I have ‘dark’ days I suppose. Times where I am disgusted by the world and feel like everything around me is artificial, superficial and depressing. I embrace those times because they help me write with a different perspective, often the work I create when under that ‘darkness’ is profound and genuine. And that’s always been such an important thing to me: keeping things real. Genuine beauty can come out of sadness so don’t be so quick to turn it away. Keep it around for a little while if only to see what you can make out of it. Not to mention the way you learn to appreciate your happy times that much more as a result.
    .
    .
    tumblr_n0emfqzu8o1rhqrapo1_500.
  14. Don’t be dependent on other people. There are a lot of good people out there. But even good people can be selfish people who will put their needs above yours. Learn not to have needs that rely on others so much. Rely on yourself. Give yourself the strength to be dependable so that your happiness doesn’t lie in the hands of another. At least, not all the time.
    .
    .
    tumblr_mro0iqnnd71sci3e4o1_500.
  15. If you’re in a group project, DO YOUR PART! As a media student several of my assignments have been group work. It is the WORST when someone doesn’t pull his or her weight. In such a small industry, people notice who is hardworking and who slacks off. Don’t be the slacker, be someone that others will appreciate working with. Whether it is a large, paid project or a small assignment worth 10% of your grade.
    .
    .
    tumblr_me21s21gtd1r44l79o1_500.
  16. If someone is doing you a favour, show him or her that you appreciate it. A classmate of mine lent me a few textbooks for a course I took and I was able to save a lot of money because I didn’t have to buy them. When I returned the book, I also gave her a gift to show her how much it meant to me. I have done favours for people who have done nothing for me in return, and that’s alright but the people who have gone out of their way to buy me coffee or give me a thank you card always meant so much more to me and had so much more respect in my eyes.
    .
    .
    tumblr_lw1xm2mcwo1qh4qhuo1_500.
  17. Acknowledge people you know but no longer keep in touch with. I see people from my high school all the time. At work, at my university or just on the street. There are a lot of kids that I was never close to but I always smile and say hello. It means a lot when someone you recognize remembers you and doesn’t pretend you don’t exist. Even if they don’t make the move to say ‘hello’ first, be the bigger person and do it. They might just be shy or nervous but when you acknowledge them they won’t ignore you. Unless they’re an asshole, of course haha.
    .
    .
    tumblr_na268rzixz1tiktxwo1_r1_500
  18. Don’t drift away from your friends just because you have a boyfriend. I’ve had a couple friends who have completely fallen off the grid when they’ve started dating someone new. It’s super hurtful because you go from seeing them and speaking to them almost everyday to going weeks without talking. Having a boyfriend is great and all and you don’t need to spend as much time with your friends as you used to but don’t cut them off drastically. Make an effort to speak to them and see them at least once every week or so, after all they came first.
    .
    .
    tumblr_o4e6nnha1t1s1pzkko1_500.
  19.  Instead of looking at the bigger picture, take things one day at a time. Trying to plan a future is scary. Of course knowing what you want to do in life and making goals is super important but sometimes you’ve got to just stop looking so far ahead and deal with the things that are in front of you. Running out of money? Just get a job. Don’t overthink every move, just go with the flow of things. As long as your ideal future is in the back of your head and you’re slowly taking steps to get there, then do you.
    .
    .
    tumblr_odq9k8lbbd1qgtg29o1_500.
  20. Even if what you’re doing in this moment in time is irrelevant to your career or your future goals, if you want to do it then do it. Life is short so don’t deprive yourself of the opportunities you want to take. Want to travel Europe? Stop stressing about needing to save money for a new car or to buy a house one day and just go! Want to take a year off after school to enjoy your freedom? Then do it. You never know life works in mysterious ways and you might just get one step closer to achieving your life goals anyway.
    .
    .
    tumblr_onbaesqm5k1tjl995o1_500.
  21. Know your rights. Going into uni I thought I was going to become a lawyer so I took a law minor. I later decided that law school wasn’t the right path for me but the law minor has come in so handy regardless. I don’t let employers, authorities and other parties take advantage of me because I am aware of my rights and am familiar with the laws of my country. Take at least one law course in school, be it in high school, university or college. Just know your basic rights it’s IMPORTANT.
    .
    .
    tumblr_ndrdampvnw1s13wj2o3_500.
  22. It’s impossible to become too wise. Don’t close yourself off from new life lessons. At 22 I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface of life even though I’ve grown so much since high school. You will never know everything so you might as well just accept that now and welcome life with open arms. Do new things, get hurt, love with all your heart, meet different people, keep following your life dreams. Just don’t ever stop.
Leave a Reply

